Oklahoma’s Speeding Laws and Penalties

Oklahoma’s Speeding Laws and Penalties

Jul 02, 2019

The speeding tickets issued in Oklahoma come down to legal technicalities. The “Basic Speeding Law” and the “Absolute Limit” are the two types of speeding laws. This blog will explain the differences in these laws and the effects of each on one’s driving record.

Basic Speeding Law

Generally, the Basic Speeding Law requires all drivers to exercise due care and good sense given the driving conditions and surroundings. Safety is the premise of this law, regardless of the posted limit.

Absolute Limit

The Absolute Limit is very basic, without tricks or details. The posted speed limit is the absolute speed limit. In Tulsa Oklahoma attorney, these speed limits are:

  • 25 mph in school zones
  • 35 mph on highways in State parks and wildlife refuges
  • 55 mph on most country roads

Penalties for a Speeding Ticket

The severity of a violation, and the driver’s record, will affect the severity of the penalty. All violations have a related fine, jail time, or both. Generally, the maximum jail times are:

  • 10 days for the first offense
  • 20 days within 1 year
  • 6 months for the third and subsequent offenses within 1 year

The maximum fines increase in 5 mph increments over the posted speed limit, as follows:

  • $10 for 1-10 mph over
  • $20 for 11-15 mph over
  • $35 for 16-20 mph over
  • $75 for 21-25 mph over
  • $135 for 26-30 mph over
  • $155 for 31-35 mph over
  • $205 for 36+ mph over

Reckless Driving

There are no speed limits to define reckless driving. The above speeding violations do not define reckless driving. Therefore, reckless driving is subjective to the officer issuing the ticket and the conditions and circumstances of the event. The formal definition of reckless driving is “careless and wanton.”

This offense carries the penalties for first offense of 90 days in jail and/or fines from $100-$500.

The Point System

Speeding violations can also add points to a driving record, and the number of points depends upon the circumstances. The accumulation of 10+ points within 5 years will lead to a suspended driver’s license. The number of points assessed for a specific driving offense is set by Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety’s Mandatory Point System. Contact Aaron Bruner Law Firm for effective legal consultation.

Font Resize
Call Now Book A Consultation
Click to listen highlighted text!